Oxford Studio Tour

This is the 7th year of the Oxford Studio Tour, and I have participated in and helped organize all of them.  It feels like the past year has gone by in a flash!  Well, except for that endless winter we just had.  Spring is here now, though, and on May 3rd and 4th,  you’ll be able to see that as you drive around Oxford County, Ontario with your friends or family, and take in all the art.

This year is proving to be one of my busiest.  One of the many things I’ve done is update the entire studio tour website for this year – I did that last year too, and my son did it the year before.  I learned HTML code!  Sort of.

I have lots of art for you to come and see at my gallery, and I hope you’ll make it to my location (#6) when touring!  I do hope you’ll see all the artists on the tour because there is so much talent and hard work that goes into this every year.  However, it’s a very large county and some of you may decide to just do part of the tour this year, and part another year.  I know this has been the case in past years, and being in one of the more ‘remote’ parts of the county, we sometimes get bypassed.  So please forgive me for boldly directing you this way.  It’s definitely worth it to make Otterville one of your tour destinations.  There are four of us exhibiting in this small area.  Of those four, three of us are actively involved in organizing the tour.  Rhonda Franks is the graphic designer for our brochures, Sue Goossens is the founder and chief organizer of the tour, and I edit the artists’s blurbs and establish the number order, as well as taking care of updating the website.

If you haven’t been to Otterville, we have a lovely waterfall at the Otterville dam, (you might even see a bald eagle!) and a very picturesque historic mill.  There is also a beautiful park which you take a walking bridge across the creek to get to.  It’s great for a picnic lunch, and it has a nice playground if you are touring with children.  If you are looking for a place to eat, there is Brown’s restaurant on the corner of Hwy 59 and Otterville Rd., which serves a nice home-cooked style meal, and there is the restaurant at Otter Creek Golf Club, at the west end of town.

In addition to this, there is a Ribfest going on in Norwich (about 7 min. away by car) on the Saturday.  I’m not sure of the exact time and location, but my glimpse of the sign tells me it’s $25, and a friend tells me it is hosted by the Lions Club.  I don’t know any more than that but if you need more information about it I can probably find it for you, just contact me by email or Facebook.

Welcome tourists!

banneradOST

Leave a Reply

