Refreshed!

Welcome to my revamped site.  I’ve kept the same overall theme but now the home page is a static page with examples of my work, and this blog has its own page listed in the menu at top.  I am hoping this will make the site more appealing to those who are primarily interested in finding out quickly what kind of art I do, rather than reading what is going on in my creative experience.  It will also be easier for people to find a piece of art quickly, see its availability, and its price.  Part of my Twitter feed will be visible too.  If you’ve got more ideas for how to make the site more user-friendly, I’d love to hear them!

I’ve had a really nice summer, with my adult children living at home temporarily and a whole bunch of wonderful warmth and sunshine.  It has done a great deal for my mood and I feel ready to paint so much more than I have been in the past year!  I spent a few days at the end of summer at Killarney Provincial Park, camping, and took in some beautiful northern Ontario scenery – always good for the psyche.  I took lots of photos to inspire me this fall and winter.

It’s not hard to bring watercolours on a hike, you just need a little paint box that includes a palette in the lid (mine is the Van Gogh brand), some brushes that have water in the handles (Koi water brushes are great!), and a little journal of watercolour paper (Strathmore Visual Journal).  And a hiking partner willing to wait while you paint!

p1040210 view-at-top-of-the-crack001

Then we took a short another short trip to Rochester, NY and I bought a tube of my favourite – Schminke helio cerulean blue – and another new colour I will be trying out.  While there I visited the Memorial Art Gallery and spent several hours, while enjoying the sounds of the pipe organ as someone was given a lesson.  One of my favourite pieces there was Galaxy by Fritz Trautmann.  I may pay homage to it in watercolour sometime soon… stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

