Oxford Studio Tour May 6 and 7

Once again spring has found its way to Oxford County, Ontario, and the artists here, including myself, are excited to show studio tourists what we’ve been up to recently.

I personally have found a fair bit of inspiration lately in the variety of fungi in the world, thanks to my part time job in science, where I am getting to know some of them, and my lasting enjoyment of discovering them on hikes.

Here are a few pieces recently finished, as examples. The one on the top right has already been spoken for by a friend who watched me as I was beginning to paint it.

There are 15 locations on the Tour this year, with 33 artists participating. There is so much beautiful art to see! I happen to be Location #1 this year (same location as usual for me, they are just in a different order this time). Without planning it as such, most of the locations are in the southern part of Oxford County this year, which works well for Sue Goossens (Location #2) and I as we are in the County’s southernmost region, here in Otterville. We welcome all of you.

Another event taking is place in Otterville on the Saturday: to celebrate the coronation of King Charles III, the Woodlawn Adult Community Centre is hosting a high tea on May 6, 2023 from 12 noon to 3 p.m. at the centre, serving up scones, clotted cream, jam, small sandwiches, sweet treats and tea. Cost is $20 per person. Fascinators welcome but not required.

If you need more information about the Oxford Studio Tour, please visit our website, where you’ll find everything you need to know at your fingertips. We look forward to your visit.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.